New Year’s Resolution Party Hat

Everyone getting ready for the new year? I’ve been spending time thinking about all the things that happened this past year, and I also wondering what will happen next year. It’s kind of fun to think of it as starting out with  a clean slate. And I’ve been trying to think of what kind of resolutions I want to make, or as I see it, what I’d like to accomplish in the new year.

Anyways, this week, in honor of the New Year, I’ve tried out a fun idea. Someone gave the great idea that I help the kids make party hats for New Year’s Eve. As I thought about it, I wanted to try and make it therapeutic, so I decided to add a little flare.

To start this activity, you’ll need a piece of paper cut out into a cylinder shape, like this:

Resolution Party Hat template

I just had plain paper lying around, but you can get creative, maybe try out construction paper, or paper with fun designs.

Next grab some markers, colored pencils, or crayons. Think about what kind of resolutions you would like to make, or maybe wishes for the new year, what ever you would like. Write them down on your paper in any way you like.  Here’s mine, I tried to come up with some fun ones.

Resolution Party hat 1

Now you can decide if you want your resolutions to be on the outside and everyone can see, or on the inside so it can be your secret. If you have them on the inside, you can flip your paper over and decorate the side that will be seen by everyone. I decided to decorate the side with the resolutions and have that be the outside. When you’re done take some tape and tape it into a cone. Here’s the finished product!

Resolution party hat 2

Party Hat Activity Notes

Ages: 5 and up

Materials: Paper, crayons, markers, colored pencils, scissors, and tape

Therapeutic Value:
Creativity
Legacy Building
Goals

Leave a Reply

