Let Your Flag Fly!

If you life in America, you probably noticed that the Super Bowl was tonight. If you are an American Football fan, you probably watched the game, and maybe even went to a Super Bowl party. I am guilty of the latter two this year, even though I wouldn’t define myself as a fan. Which is part of the reason for the focus of this blog post. A Super Bowl party is a great way to socialize and have some fun with friends. And if you have a favorite team, you can show your team spirit by wearing jerseys, hats, and waving flags. I know that many people collect the real flags, but you can also make them, like the one I made:

IMG_0274Yes, I was cheering for the Seahawks, but mainly because my family is currently living in Washington. Anyways, while a Super Bowl party is quite fun, when you are in the hospital it is much harder to have such a party. While it’s true that not everyone is in to American Football, those who are might be a little down about missing out on the party plans with friends. Just like with birthdays, Christmas, Easter, and many other holidays and events, it’s important to recognize that there are people who find the Super Bowl to be a special day. Which is why we had a little Super Bowl prep fun at this hospital.

We made a few different items to encourage the cheering fans, but my favorite one we did was the flags. Because creating flags aren’t just something for your favorite sports teams. You can create a flag of your favorite band or book character. You can even create a flag that is a representation of you or your family! There are so many ways you can use flags to encourage and inspire you. If you remember the shield collage activity I explained awhile back, it’s a similar idea.

I was inspired to make this next flag by a young child I recently met. He reminded me of the power and inspiration of superheros, and I created a flag to represent leadership and never giving up:

IMG_0273Yes, that is Leo from Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. You can learn a few lessons from this Hero in a Half-Shell! And believe it or not, I did his face free-hand. I think my drawing skills are getting slowly better. And maybe it’s because I was looking at a picture of him while drawing the face. Either way, this activity was great fun and all you really need is some paper and colorful writing utensils. You can choose which shape you want your flag and then go from there, maybe having just a picture, or a picture with some words, or something else entirely. Just create something that inspires you and makes you want to wave your flag high!

Flag Activity Notes

Ages: 5 and up

Materials: paper, crayons, markers, scissors, and anything else you might want

Therapeutic Value:
Creativity
Control
Normalization
Fine Motor Control
Self-Esteem

Leave a Reply

